1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

60's bassman 2x15 cabinet and 100B head

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by 4stringfiend, Jan 27, 2012.

1. 4stringfiend

4stringfiend

Jan 15, 2012
    SF Bay Area
    Hey guys, this is my first post here!
    I've been playing for 3 months, and before that, many years ago, I played the DB and electric bass for a couple years. This time around I'm having a lot more fun with it though!
    Anyways I just picked up this amp for a cool $425 off of craigslist, its a Fender bassman 215 cabinet with a 100B head. It says the head is 250 watts.
    First of all, how did I do? I really like the sound, I get a really deep, thunderous tone from it. I turn the treble and frequency pretty low and I turn the bass and mids way up. Would this head be able to take another cabinet? I was thinking about adding a 210 in there at some point.
    Also pictured is my Squier P bass, its got some years under it, but I don't know how old it is D:

Attached Files:

2. billfitzmaurice

billfitzmaurice Commercial User

Sep 15, 2004
    New Hampshire
    Owner, Bill Fitzmaurice Loudspeaker Design
    It's only 100 watts, and the speakers are guitar speakers. You'll probably outgrow it in short order, but it's fine for practice. It's not from the 60s, though, and the head isn't the tube head that originally came with that cab.

3. 2x15 guitar cab? Huh - interesting

I would question that if it weren't billfitzmaurice posting - thanks

I think you did pretty well at that price!

4. someparts

someparts

Nov 22, 2010
    Ohio