• TalkBass has been independent since 1998. Add your voice.
    Create a free account to reply to discussions, view embedded media, and browse with fewer display ads.
    Join freeLog in
    Want zero display ads or expanded classifieds tools? Compare plans.

A local TB'er ripped me off!!

Status
Not open for further replies.
That's the one, however there were more posts to that thread, including mine, someone else local who had left their phone number for him to call, and the one where he declared the bass sold after I paid. Perhaps it was page 2.

Good work finding that man, thanks and cheers!

Got it. You can check with google later to see if they update it to a newer version of the post. It would still be on one page because of the number of the posts.

Also, and I'm not defending the guy at all, I too have deleted For Sale ads I've had on Talkbass when I've ultimately sold the equipment elsewhere.
 
Got it. You can check with google later to see if they update it to a newer version of the post. It would still be on one page because of the number of the posts.

Also, and I'm not defending the guy at all, I too have deleted For Sale ads I've had on Talkbass when I've ultimately sold the equipment elsewhere.
I do understand how someone would delete an ad after selling, however my feeling here at TB is that leaving threads for previous sales and marking them "sold" is what we do. Preserving a thread to show good/positive interaction between members, especially in sales situations, is very valuable. Not only to the members, but to TB as well, showing the volume of transactions, and many of us simply like to read the threads.

Marking it sold is generally what happens here, and I'm thinking that if it were me, I'd have no real reason to delete it unless I wanted to hide something. But that's me...
 
Ok then he just deleted the ad. He didn't block you or delete his account.
And as far as conversations go, there is a function where you can delete/remove your participation in any conversation. I found this out a few months ago when I was researching something minor--the other TB-er removed her discussions with me. There was nothing untoward--I think it's simply designed to let you clean up your message cache--the convo was over two years old.
I'd postulate that it is telling that it happened so quickly in this case, however...
 
And as far as conversations go, there is a function where you can delete/remove your participation in any conversation. I found this out a few months ago when I was researching something minor--the other TB-er removed her discussions with me. There was nothing untoward--I think it's simply designed to let you clean up your message cache--the convo was over two years old.
I'd postulate that it is telling that it happened so quickly in this case, however...
Another member messaged me and said that it appeared the seller deleted or had his account deleted around 12 am this morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.