1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Advice on Fender Pbass pickup for reggae-dub & edm

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Phaidrus, Jan 24, 2021.

1. Phaidrus

Phaidrus

Oct 25, 2009
    Since acquiring a second Fender Pbass some months ago I have dedicated my first Pbass - a 2008 Fender AmStd with maple neck and Fender Original pickup - exclusively to reggae-dub and EDM (electronic dance music, namely a number of house music variants). As an amateur, I play with friends and record stuff at home via Ableton Live. To this purpose this Pbass is currently strung with Dunlop flatwounds 45105 (previously with DR Legend and Fender 9050). I do like the tone but more often than not I have the impression it is somewhat too growly/aggressive for this type of music. Too much funk in that pup! Ideally I'd describe the tone I'm looking for as "round", "fat", "no upper mids", yet with punch and some definition (think of Robbie Shakespeare or Aston Barrett). So the question is, would the Fender Pure Vintage 63 pickup be a better choice than the Original to this end? Or perhaps the Fender Custom Shop 62 pickup? I'd like to stick with Fender, so not considering any other brand. Thanks in advance for your input!

2. I would try getting an EQ pedal and just dialing out the frequency you are not liking and boosting the lows, and dialing in a little 230hz.

retslock, dbsfgyd1, Crispus and 10 others like this.
  3. bassdude51

bassdude51 "You never even called me by my name." Supporting Member

Nov 1, 2008
    Central Ohio
    Don't know exactly what to suggest. The '63 Pure Vintage P pickup is a little bit on the "hot" side compared to the CS '62 or the Fender Original. (The '63 having around 12 K ohms. vs the 10.9 K to 11.5 K ohms of the CS and Or.) I mean to say that the '63 PV is probably a better choice for your desired sound IMHO.