1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Am I crazy for wanting to make a neck thinner?

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by TexasThunder, Jan 23, 2021.

1. TexasThunder

TexasThunder Supporting Member

Mar 4, 2018
    Texas
    For starters, I’m a fairly advanced woodworker.

Secondly, I’ve posted in another thread about just buying a replacement neck that meets my needs.

But I got to thinking...just traded for a Fender JMJ SS bass and am really digging it so far. However, I have small hands for a dude and the neck is a bit on the chunky side. This is also going to be a bass one of my daughters, learns on. So, I’m considering a diy neck adjustment to remove some wood from the back.

Am I crazy for having this idea?

2. chinjazz

chinjazz Supporting Member

Sep 11, 2002
    Atlantic Beach, FL
    Hey Texas Thunder,

Not crazy at all. Doing these kinds of adjustments are common. If I'm gathering correctly (with Google search), this is your bass? JMJ Road Worn® Mustang® Bass | Electric Basses

If it's already road worn, whatever you do could be an enhancement aesthetically.

You'll most likely need to sand down to wood (with low grit, graduating up to about 220), or get out a wrap and work some of the thickness out of the back of the neck, then sand. There's a lot of videos out there on youtube, with many techniques. I'd recommend taking the neck off the bass though, and taping off the fretboard including down the side (covering the fret ends & board). I usually take a plastic grocery store bag and wrap/tape it around the head stock till I'm done.

You'll want to re-seal and put a light coat of something durable. For simplicity on tasks like these, I like MinWax wipe on poly (satin). A few light coats can get you to done. I like to thin it down a bit with de-natured alcohol so it goes on light. I usually do about 3 coats.