Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Any Yamaha RBX 350 players out there?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sandman357, Mar 7, 2005.

1. Hey, I have been playing my 350 for 12 years and love it. Now that I am older and have more cash I have been looking for a replacement, but can't find one I like better. Any one else out there love their 350 or am I just nuts?
    ( I am new to this forum, so if you think I am nuts please be nice. :cool:
    Later,
    Sandman

2. stingray5bbx

stingray5bbx

Feb 11, 2005
    Try a Yamaha BB series. I have a month old BB-X if you're interested :)

3. elros

elros

Apr 24, 2004
    Norway
    Proprietor, Helland Musikk Teknologi
    I bought a Yamaha RBX 250 in '93 or '94 - it was my first bass! Excellent playability and comfort, good quality, decent sound. I sold it to a friend when I bought my Acacia fretless in '98, but recently I bought it back and fitted EMG pickups; now it is better than many basses that cost two or three times the price of the RBX. It's great!

4. lefty007

lefty007

Jan 19, 2004
    Miami, FL
    Another fan here! My RBX350 was my first bass. A couple of years ago I had it defretted, but I put it in the close it for years. In the meantime I have had 20 other basses in my rotation. I recently pulled it back out, and I'm in love with it now.

The P-bass sound is very good and the bridge pickup is really close to the bridge, so it gives you a super-jaco sound. The light weight is great and the neck has a great profile.

It just a bit noisy and it looks like a toy (mine has that pale blue paint), but what a great bass.

Hard to say what is a good replacement. If you are looking for something similar, a Fender P-Bass Special will give you a similar sound, but then, what is the point in doing that?

Just tell us what kind of sound my interest you and maybe you can get more recommendations...