Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Bassist to be needs help!!!!

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Dream, Jan 8, 2005.

1. Dream

Dream

Jun 26, 2004
    What's up, guys

Soon, I'm going to buy an amp and bass. When I start playing I do not want to develop any bad habits whatsoever. I would love to take lessons, but I'm tight on money right now, so I can't afford them.

Could you guys offer me some tips on what kinda stuff to start off on? What all should I learn that will benefit me down the road as a bassist? Any and ALL tips that would get me off to a good start would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks!

Also, if any of you know of a really good beginners instruction DVD/VHS, please include that!

2. Seraph

Seraph

Jan 3, 2005
    Puerto Rico
    im by no means an expert, hell i started a little bit ago, but i started taking lessons after messing around on the bass a lot and i had a ton of bad habits. first remember that you have to alternate your index and the long finger for hitting notes, it'll become second nature after a bit. also, i was taught to put the thumb on the pick up when i was playing the E or D , when i start hitting an A, i move the thumb against E, mainly cause its easier for me to hit them and it mutes the E string. theres no sound uglier than two low frequency strings vibrating at the same time when they're not supposed to. also i move the thumb to between the E and A , so i mute both of them when im hitting the G. it was very annoying for me but i quickly found myself playing a lot cleaner once i got used to it . as for the hand, i've always been taught to use a 1 fret = 1 finger scheme, and i've gotten pretty used to it by now. it was hell on the wrist at first though :s i dunno what else too say, cept have fun and good luck :smug: :)

3. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City