1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Best strings for pizz on good entry-level bass?

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by JourneymanSixty, Sep 15, 2020.

1. JourneymanSixty

JourneymanSixty

Apr 19, 2019
    I've been playing upright for three years, and having a blast playing folk, Americana, and getting into a little bit of jazz standards. I've got a Shen SB80 3/4 (good entry-level laminate) bass, and bought Spirocore Orchestra mediums for them after researching and finding them to be the "reference" set to start with. Everyone I play with seems to love the tone, but I'm wondering if a change might get me some more thump. I have no near-term ambitions for arco, so it's really all about adding some more pizz fullness with the limitations of the laminate bass. I especially would like a fatter G string sound, even at the expense of volume. Evah Pirazzi medium seems like a good bet. What do you recommend?

2. Since how long are they on the bass?

3. I haven't tried Innovation strings since GHS bought them, but that might be a better option. If you want to stick to metal wound you could try their Braided, Polychrome, or Honey set, or you could try one of their non metal wound sets.
    Evahs can sound good in the practice room, but have a dynamic ceiling. The mediums I have heard are also very high tension.

Alternatively you could stick it out with the Spiros until they're broken in. They'll have plenty of thump and will be plenty loud. The brightness you perceive of Spiros by your bass translates to a more fat and clear sound in a band mix. It’ll also save you a lot of money in the long term as experimenting with strings is expensive.

Or you could keep at least the Spiro E and A and try out different D and G strings that are a little more darker.

4. 16fuss

16fuss

Apr 25, 2005
    Spiro Mittel gets you the best possible sound out of your laminate.