1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Best Theroy book

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by beelzelboss, Dec 20, 2008.

1. I've been playing for a few years, and want to konw what is the best Theory book, not so much playing styles, but just how to learn theory (sheet music) and scales, arpeggios, and all of that kind of stuff.. I am willing to a get a few!

Thanks

~craig

2. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    "Edly's Music Theory for Practical People" http://www.edly.com/

I like it because he doesn't assume you know how to read notation, nor that you know the keyboard. He also uses examples from pop, rock, jazz, folk, and world musics instead of just classical. Best, his diagrams are exactly like what I used to write out by hand decades ago when I was teaching regularly.

jte

3. Blake Bass

Blake Bass Supporting Member

Jan 10, 2006
    Montgomery, Texas
    The Jazz Theory Book by Mark Levine is excellent. There is enough material in the book to keep you busy the rest of your life.

4. DocBop

DocBop

Feb 22, 2007
    Los Angeles, CA
    +1 Great book, but if a theory noob might want to start with a simpler book.

5. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    Song Surgeon slow downer. https://tinyurl.com/y5dcuqjg
  6. Has anyone here got the Bass Grimoire? I've got the guitar version and it's very comprehensive. Any comments on the bass version?

7. TheShreddingE

TheShreddingE

May 4, 2008
    Well I'm not sure how relevant it is, but Slap it is buy far, the best i have tried. It is fun easy, and you can make some great music

8. I have the Bass Grimoire.... It has every scale in ever mode and all that stuff, but it doesn't go into too much detail about actual music theory.

9. Rudreax

Rudreax

Jun 14, 2008
    New York, NY