Best warm sounding bass for recording? P vs J

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Simon Nyberg, Apr 8, 2020.

1. Simon Nyberg

Simon Nyberg

Mar 30, 2020
    Sweden
    Hi!

I'm new here on the forum and thought I'd drop a question I've been having for some time.

I have been playing bass for a while and I'm currently looking to get a better bass. At the moment I play a jaguar short scale from squier with EMG pups. I like it a lot but I can't really get the professional feel out of it (compared to my friends' higher end basses.) Also I want to get a long scale.

I will primeraly use it for recording as I'm also studying music production and is recording music with my band. Our music is best described as "slick" pop/rock music with an edge of electronic music on some tracks. Our songs are really "tight" and the bass is really "subby". Now I'm not sure if I should get a jazz bass or a p bass. I enjoy the P sound but sometimes I'm looking for a more hi-fi (still a lot of low end) type of sound. I guess you could say I want my bass to sound a bit like a sub bass preset in a plugin.

What are your thoughts? I know the P bass is known for it's really warm sound. I also know the jazz is considered more "hi-fi"

I understand this might sound a bit complicated but I'm not sure how to explain the sound I'm looking for.

Angus Walker, BLDavis and jamro217 like this.
  2. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    A Jazz would be able to get a more convincing P like sound, so IMO it could be considered more versatile.

BLDavis and Simon Nyberg like this.
  3. abarson

abarson

Nov 6, 2003
    Santa Cruz
    Neither. I'd go with a G&L Tribute L-2000. Lots of tonal versatility.

4. Simon Nyberg

Simon Nyberg

Mar 30, 2020
    Sweden
    Yeah! I figured. Would you say a p-bass or a jazz have got more low-end? Not like low mids, I mean the real sub.

5. Simon Nyberg

Simon Nyberg

Mar 30, 2020
    Sweden
    Thanks I'll check that out!

6. Dave W