Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

BT's gun question thread.

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by bassturtle, Mar 28, 2005.

1. bassturtle

bassturtle

Apr 9, 2004
    Okay, first of all, let me say thanks to Brad and anyone else who's helped me with my 'noobish gun questions' both via PM and on the forums. I recently (like 5 or 6 months ago) started getting into shooting and some small game hunting. There are still a lot of things that I have no clue about tho and I'm hoping some you gun-iacs can help me out.

Again, please keep in mind that I'm totally new to all of this, so when you explain things remember to use small words and speak very slowly...kind of how my wife has to talk to me everyday :D

My first question. How can you tell the differences in the caliber of rounds - .45 vs. 9mm. How is the caliber of a bullet determined? How do you know what is the best round for a given situation?

Let's start there :D

2. caliber is the diameter of the round. There ends the extent of my knowledge.

Mike

3. burk48237

burk48237 Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2004
    Oak Park, MI
    Theres a lot of variables, #1 bigger bullits (heavier/grain weight ) travel slower but hit harder. #2 larger diamiter bullits travel slower/hit harder