1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

buying my first bass... HELP

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by 12beat, Aug 21, 2012.

1. 12beat

12beat

Aug 21, 2012
    Hello everybody!
    I've been playing guitar for 4 years and now I'm buying my first bass (and an amp also) so, I really need your help to make a good decision...
    I want to spend around 300€ (around 250 £ or 350$). I haven't played any of them yet, but this are the ones that seem pretty nice to me
    http://www.thomann.de/gb/hoefner_ignition_beatles_bass_vsb.htm
    or
    http://www.thomann.de/gb/fender_squier_vint_mod_jazz_3csb.htm

And I'm thinking about buying 'Vox Pathfinder 10 Bass' too.
    http://www.thomann.de/gb/vox_pathfinder_10_bass.htm

I just need an amp for home practise, and also for home recording, that's why I think that amp is great. I own a Vox Da-5 guitar amp, and its line out is the greatest thing ever for recording, it sounds even better than the amp itself.

Please, let me know, what do you think about the amp, and the bass guitars? any other alternatives?

I love Beatles music, but I also play a lot of blues music (mainly blues-rock music), some jazz, and also many contemporary singer-songwriters music like jack johnson, john mayer, jason mraz, david gray, damien rice....

Thanks for your help!

2. Gorn

Gorn

Dec 15, 2011
    Queens, NY
    The Jazz is a lot more versitile than the Hofner, but both are great to have. The shortscale Hofner would be great for you coming from guitar.

3. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Frat-Pack Sympathizer

I'd go with the Jazz. Works well with just about any style of music, both sonically and visually.

4. 12beat

12beat

Aug 21, 2012
    I haven't test them yet, I couldn't find any on my local store, I'm going to more shops tomorrow...