1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Chours

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by ziggy44, Jan 21, 2012.

1. ziggy44

ziggy44

Jan 15, 2012
    Call me ignorant, but I don't understand the applications of many of these bass effects. I have a distortion/driver, a reverb, a cry baby, and a tuning pedal. I like the sound the Chours makes, I just don't see where to use it aside a solo. It seems like the light tone gets lost when mixed with guitar and drumbs. I have been playing bass for 12 years and am really starting to get serious with it and would like some insight into bass effects in general. I look forward to hearing from u all as u know this app has quite a few very knowledgeable veteran bassists. Thanx in advance for your input!

Ziggy

2. I don't use chorus alot, mainly I use a heavy chorus for alot of our 80's covers (Cure, Cars, etc.). Also, a good way to thicken up a solo line if need be.

I never had a reason to use reverb on bass.

Distortion, fuzz, overdrive etc. is a definate personal thing... I tend to use just enough to fit what style I am trying to pull off.

3. Grrface

Grrface

Jun 26, 2010
    Baltimore, MD
    Aside from a solo or perhaps a slower song, chorus isn't really going to be very applicable in a band setting. I've pretty much removed chorus use from my playing for almost exactly that reason.

4. ehque

ehque

Jan 8, 2006
    Singapore
    It's great for thickening higher lines and especially the output of a octave-up.

5. ziggy44

ziggy44

Jan 15, 2012
    Again please exuse my igrorance but isn't that Wat an octive pedal OS for? Or do u mean for when u play an octive above the guitar?

6. Jazz Ad

Jazz Ad Mi la ré sol Supporting Member

7. Vinny_G

Vinny_G

Dec 1, 2011
    France