Class D Bass amp and cab recommendations

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by sonic_boogaloo, Aug 18, 2017.

1. sonic_boogaloo

sonic_boogaloo

Aug 18, 2017
    First of all, Hi everyone! I'm a newbie.

A bit of background: Up until 20 years ago I played bass guitar semi-professionally doing small-medium size gigs and even recording until taking a hiatus.

Fast forward to present day, I've reestablished my enthusiasm for playing bass and hope to start playing live (in small-mid size venues) and recording again.

Back in the day I only used tube amplification such as HiWatt and Fender, but sold all my amps after taking a break.

Now I'm looking at buying a new amp and cab(s). Research has convinced me that tube amps are no longer practical and are probably out of my price range anyway. Class D seems the way to go.

I play a CIJ Fender Mustang Bass with LaBella flatwounds. I play with fingers and plectrum. I absolutely hate the slap and pop bass sound.

My favourite bass sounds/players are:

McCartney Revolver-Abbey Road Beatles
    Jamerson 60s-early 70s motown
    Late 60s - early 70s JBs
    Classic 60's/70's pop/Rock - Byrds, The Who, Cream, Stones, Faces etc
    Herbie Flowers' playing on Gainsbourg's 'Histoire De Melody Nelson'
    Scott IV - Scott Walker (whoever played the bass on that)
    Bruce Foxton with The Jam
    MC5/Stooges

YouTube is a minefield because almost ALL demos feature mainly slap bass, grrrr!

Anyway, my research seems to indicate that the Aguilar TH500 plus 1x12 cab is probably best suited. Any other recommendations that I should audition?

Thank you!

2. Stumbo

Stumbo Guest

Feb 11, 2008
    Welcome to TB!

What is your max budget?

3. Welcome to TalkBass.
    Have you checked out the Genzler? Click>Genzler Amplification
    It also has a great DI for live and recording.

revroy, metallicafan18 and Burwabit like this.
  4. sonic_boogaloo

sonic_boogaloo

Aug 18, 2017
    Thanks!