1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Clicking noise with the pickup

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by jtad, Sep 26, 2009.

1. jtad

jtad

Sep 26, 2009
    In first place I'd like to say sorry for my english, it's not my first language.
    Anyway, I'm kinda new to the bass guitar, been playing for about 8 months, and one thing that's annoying me is the sound that my fingers make when they hit the pickup below the strings. Does anyone know what can I do to solve this problem? Do they sell noiseless pickups or something like that, or is it just a technique issue?
    Thanks in advance.

2. John Wentzien

John Wentzien

Jun 25, 2007
    Elberta, AL
    Artist:TC Electronic RH450 bass system (original test-pilot)
  3. RAM

RAM

May 10, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    It's largely a technique issue. One question I'd pose to you though, is whether it's noise from your fingers hitting the pickups (which sounds more like a thud) than from your strings hitting the frets. This fret noise is irritating to some, but others find it acceptable, if not desirable (it adds to your dynamic signature). This can also (to some extent) be eq'd out by cutting above 10 kHz.

BTW: your English is just fine. IMO, there's no need to apologize, especially if it's not your first language. Welcome to TB!:hyper:

4. Nashrakh

Nashrakh

Aug 16, 2008
    Hamburg, Germany
    Depends.

If you can't hear that sound over the amplifier, I wouldn't worry too much.

If you can, then that may have 2 causes: Either fret noise (as already pointed out) or your pickup height is set too high, causing the strings to hit the open pole pieces.

What kind of bass do you play? How much space is in between the pickup and the string(s)? I'd suggest lowering them if they are too high, in almost all cases this can be done by turning the screws next to the pups clockwise (if my memory serves me right)