1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

D or Eb neck?

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by 2manybass, Jan 1, 2012.

1. 2manybass

2manybass

Oct 22, 2011
    Hello all!

Im just beginning my Double Bass journey having played EB for several decades. I picked up a rental and began seeing a teacher last month. My first lesson was focused on using the bow. My second lesson was focused on 4th position. This is where the subject question arose.

Is there an inherent advantage in having a D neck vs an Eb neck other than the intuitively simpler (to me) D neck? My rental is an Eb neck and it seems a little less convenient to have an Eb note right there at the joint rather than a D.

I've been shopping around to purchase an instrument a bit nicer than my rental (vacillating between Thompson and Upton hybrids), and I'm leaning towards a D neck unless there's a compelling reason to go with the Eb. My teacher advocates the D neck, but I'm also interested in the informed opinions of the players on this forum.

What do you think folks? Thanks in advance for your replies and opinions.

Tom

2. Will Yager

Will Yager Supporting Member

May 7, 2006
    Iowa City, IA
    I've never thought of one being inherently better than the other. IMO, it's one of the many things about bass that come down to player preference.

3. powerbass

powerbass

Nov 2, 2006
    western MA
    I have a Thompson Hybrid Eb neck. You get used to it with your fingering exercises.

4. Whatever bass you have you'd get used to. My bass has Eb neck and I kind of like it as it makes more sense to me having an F at the end of the neck and a G only a whole tone away rather than having a E at the end and the G a semi tone + a whole tone away. But as I said its only matter of time to get use to whatever neck you get.

Jiri Holec likes this.
  5. Matthijs

Matthijs Supporting Member

Jul 3, 2006
    Amsterdam