do tubes need break in time?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by xshawnxearthx, Jul 22, 2005.

1. xshawnxearthx

Aug 23, 2004
    new jersey
    never owned a tube amp, just wondering.
  2. rumblethump

rumblethump Supporting Member

Mar 25, 2000
    Pioneer CA. 95666
    I've never heard that from my tube guru, but some gitard might say something like that. :p
  3. xshawnxearthx

Aug 23, 2004
    new jersey
    haha gitard
  4. Blueszilla

Blueszilla Bassist ordinaire

Apr 2, 2003
    The Duke City
    I have some experience with large power amplifier tubes, such as the intermediate and final pa sections of large transmitters. These tubes (mfd by ITT) required several hours of burn-in and monitoring of filament currents. The 'break-in' period, as explained to me, was mainly for filament stabilzation. Filament output will vary initially, then reach an equilibrium after time. In push-pull output stages, it is important that each tube be "matched", in terms of output,with it's partner for proper waveform shape, and balanced transmission to the antenna.

That said, I don't know that amplifier tube manufacturers recommend a burn in period and if it is just a single tube stage there is no matching to do. OTOH, it certainly wouldn't hurt to leave it on filament only (standby) awhile. It used to be that you waited a bit after turning the amp on in standby to let the filaments warm up, come to operating temperature, then apply the bias. Might make your tubes last longer. Also waiting a bit with the amp in standby lets it come down in temp a little before shutting the power off. I have an amp with a single tube pre and it doesn't have a standby switch, so bias is applied with the preamp volume control. I turn this down to zero before turning the amp off.

The filaments in a tube are somewhat like whats in a light bulb, though physically stronger. The longer they're used the more brittle they become. A slow warm up and warm down will get the most life out of them.