1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Does a High Quality Bass Improve Our Playing?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Zeus_Mutation, Dec 11, 2018.

1. Zeus_Mutation

Zeus_Mutation

Feb 6, 2010
    Hi,

I'm hoping to get feedback on sonic truths of bass materials and parts.

So, I've always struggled with gear and the perception of sonic quality as it equates to pricing/materials. I'm mainly a drummer. I strongly believe in using the highest of quality cymbals while drums can be of significant lessor quality and still sound amazing. Never have I heard the opposite though...

I play a Squier Matt Freeman P w/Steve Harris Seymour Duncans & upgraded pots. I started with a Squier Affinity Jazz pack. I also dabble on guitar... lucky enough to land a top-o-line Stratocaster. This has every bell and whistle Fender enthusiasts like to boast about. The fit & finish are exceptional. Its acoustic properties are gorgeous... and it feels amazing. This guitar has me asking...

With a bass... can anyone honestly hear a sonic difference between an Adler & Basswood body? At bass frequencies, does the body wood actually make a noticeable difference? I'm suggesting no.
    I do think mahogany sounds different. I do think maple/rosewood sounds different than maple/maple.
    What about bridges... one high mass versus another... if equally balanced and weighted... which tech is a difference maker?
    Tuners, as long as they stay in tune right?
    How about the nut. Does nut material create a noticeable sonic difference?