1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Does this clone really sound like a Darkglass Vintage Deluxe?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Direct Box Rox, Mar 15, 2018.

1. Direct Box Rox

Direct Box Rox Silence = Deaf

Feb 12, 2012
    USA
    I don't have any DG products, though I'm planning on getting a B3K. I stumbled across this video on YT and was wondering how accurate it is, but more importantly - I thought this would present a legal problem? I'm no expert in that field so what do I know?

Driven Crane likes this.
  2. Bassbeater

Bassbeater Guest

Sep 9, 2001
    Sounds pretty good on some settings. Not sure how close it is to the DG unit. You won't get sued for using it.
    Any store links for Marco Ferraro?

Last edited: Mar 15, 2018
    Driven Crane likes this.
  3. Being and Bass

Being and Bass

Apr 9, 2017
    Canada
    Honestly, I love the sound of this pedal. For a clone it gets pretty close and even seems a bit darker than the original.

Bassbeater likes this.
  4. Bassbeater

Bassbeater Guest

Sep 9, 2001
    Darker Glass

5. jwr

jwr

Jun 28, 2010
    Overland Park, KS
    Sounds similar but different. Definitely seems to be darker than the originals. I'm looking at his page and he's done a few others. I'm not sure of any legal issues that would arise. It's probably not worth the time to pursue that for Darkglass.

6. boomertech

boomertech Frank Appleton Supporting Member Commercial User

Apr 8, 2009
    Syracuse, NY
    Designer/Owner of FEA Labs
    If you read the description in that youtube video you would see that the guy builds pedals as a hobby. So, getting him to build you one and then pay for shipping with the higher Euro rate being at 123% it might be a wash to just buy the original with an established support system behind it.