Drummer wanting to convert to Bass

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by Brian189, Jun 28, 2016.

1. Brian189

Brian189

Jun 28, 2016
    I've been playing drums for many years and I wanted to learn bass for a number of reasons:

I've become bored of drums. I think I've plateaued due to this. But I would prefer to remain part of the rhythm section.
    There are way too many drummers (and guitarists as well) out there compared to bass players. Meaning fewer band opportunities.
    I'll soon be selling my single house and moving to an apartment where practicing drums will be out of the question.

So I'm here looking for advice from experienced players, what tips you can give me on how to get started the right way and not use my practice time poorly (knowing that lots of practice time is a given here).

Thanks in advance.

2. tilt724

tilt724 Not too old to learn...I hope!

Jan 1, 2016
    Maryland
    I tyPE beTTeR thAn I plaY bASS. So YOu won't hEaR frOM me wiTH ADvice on THIS fOrRUM buT i Can fULLfill dutIEs as a TB GREETER. wElcOME AbOArD! :D

3. Callused Finger

Callused Finger

Feb 22, 2007
    New York
    You have to fire yourself first.. Then consult with the drummer about joining the band.

4. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    Do you have a bass and amp yet? Let us know in what part of the world you live and I'm sure that you'll receive teacher recommendations to get you started.

5. Brian189

Brian189

Jun 28, 2016
    I'm in the Philadelphia suburbs.
    I have a bass, but not an amp yet. I'm open to recommendations on that as well.

6. jallenbass

jallenbass Supporting Member Commercial User

May 17, 2005
    Bend, Oregon
    What styles of music do you like to play?

I don't know of anyone in the Philly area.

7. Brian189

Brian189

Jun 28, 2016