1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Earplug Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by GreggBummer, Feb 25, 2008.

1. I apologize in advance if this is not in the right forum.

I am an Iraq vet who picked up some hearing damage in the sandbox. I am out now. I have started playing in a band with a drummer who beats his kit like an angry 800 pound gorilla on speed. The guitar players are turned up to eleven, distorted to all hell, and when they make a mistake... turn up louder.

So I like this band.

With my hearing already damaged, I am afraid that playing once a week with these guys is going to push my fragile hearing even farther over the edge. I know if I ask, they will turn it down. But volumes creep back up, and to be honest I don't want to spoil anyones fun.

I need earplugs. Can anyone suggest a comfortable, high quality set? I would like something more than the foam things that you roll up and stick in your ear. Something for musicians.

BTW: I am rather new to the forums here... it is a great community. Thanks.

Bummer

2. anderbass

anderbass

Dec 20, 2005
    Phoenix. Az.
  3. Yep, and immediately at least get Hearos (usually available from most decent drugstores) in case you want custom musician earplugs, as it takes a while for the custom ones to be delivered.

Every time you hear a loud cymbal, N amount of tiny fibers in your ears are permanently damaged. You only get one set in this lifetime. --Kent

4. scottbass

scottbass Bass lines like a big, funky giant

Jul 13, 2004
    Southern MN
    Welcome to TB, and welcome home!

I just use the foam ones - the brand name is Hearo's. I know a few people who bought the non-disposable ear plugs made for shooters, you know, like on a rifle range. They seem to like them, but I can't give you any firsthand opinions.

5. Get these instead of the soft foam ones: