Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Elegy for my Clarus; Goodbye old friend

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Wilbyman, Feb 2, 2006.

1. Wilbyman

Wilbyman

Sep 10, 2003
    Parkersburg, WV
    It was the year 2000 (I think). Maybe it was 1999.

I was a law student slumming in the undergrad jazz program (or maybe I was an unregistered jazz student slumming at the law school). My trusty steed had thus far been a Realist (which I couldn't afford, but I could afford a fishman AND a preamp even less) and an SWR WM12. I was young, dumb and full of...but I digress.

I heard from somebody that there was a new amp out that weighed 5lbs; that was the size of a He-Man lunch box; that would get loud enough to make your ears bleed; that actually sounded good with DB and BG (In The Bottom Line speak -- there was no TB -- URB and EBG). No, I had never really heard of a Walter Woods.

The original Clarus cost an exorbitant $439.00 when it came out. (I think). $439.00 is alot of money for someone more or less living on generic raisin bran and watered down skim milk (don't worry about me, I've put on a few lbs since then!) But, I was curious. And the WM12 is pretty damned heavy when you're malnourished.

I found a cheap 1x10 cab and hucked it and my lunch box around for the next few years. The Clarus was my buddy. It never failed me. It never made a hiccup. I treated it bad, I'm sure. I probably pushed it way too hard, for way too long, way too many times.