1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Essential pedals.

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by H2ODog, Apr 17, 2009.

1. H2ODog

H2ODog

Sep 30, 2003
    Roseville, CA
    So i'm a newbie on effects and bought a Pedaltrain Mini just to brake into it and i really don't have an urge to have a ton of effects so i though this would be fine. I have three pedals so far, compressor, tuner, VT bass. If your main interest was rock (mostly classic and some modern) and blues what would you say are the essential pedals you would have?

2. 3toes

3toes

Aug 30, 2006
    Charleston, South Carolina
    Endorsing Artist: Lakland Basses
    That pretty much covers it, imo. When I think rock/blues I think of a mainly clean, unaffected sound.

When I was in a blues trio, I had pretty much the same, but I added an octave pedal (micro POG) to help fill out the sound some when the guitarist was going into extended solos. But even then, I only just barely had the low-octave noticeable. And again, that was because we were a trio and needed to fill out the sound some.

You just have to think about what will help out the overall sound of the band, where are the gaps that need to be filled.

3. H2ODog

H2ODog

Sep 30, 2003
    Roseville, CA
    Thanks for sharing your experience, i think you are right on the money. I was actually looking at the POG as one pedal i may be able to use also. Did you have any use for chorus or distortion?

4. I like to have a nice subtle chorus for *big* parts, although putting it on thick enough to really notice can come off as cheesey(which can be good or bad :D). An overdrive/distortion is also a handy flavor to add here & there.

5. Godbody

Godbody

May 27, 2008