Favorite Female Bassist?

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by PumpkinEscobar, Jul 14, 2016.

Tags:
  1. PumpkinEscobar

PumpkinEscobar

Jul 12, 2016
    Ohio
    I'm sure that a thread similar to this has been started before. I'm a newbie and this site is pretty overwhelming when you don't know the ins and outs of it. So instead of searching for a past thread I'm making a new one. Who are your favorite female bassists?

I don't have a favorite in particular. The newest lady I've heard of that is seriously talented is Divinity Roxx. I was blown away by here. Unfortunately she plays bass for Beyonce which I couldn't care less about... BUT she has some serious chops.

And of course you have to throw Carol Kaye in there.

Sean Yseult from White Zombie.

Tina Weymouth of Talking Heads and Tom Tom Club fame.

Who are your favorites? I'd love to find some new people to listen to.

deernaes, Squittolo, design and 2 others like this.
  2. Dug2

Dug2

Sep 24, 2011
    chicago
    Tal w. Best chick ever. From Australia

3. two fingers

two fingers Opinionated blowhard. But not mad about it. Gold Supporting Member

Feb 7, 2005
    Eastern NC USA
    I have always thought Rhonda Smith is like the Dennis Chambers of bass. Hire her and scratch bass of your to-do list. You're good to go.

Roger W, Afc70, Blueinred and 8 others like this.
  4. lowdownthump

lowdownthump

Jul 17, 2004
    Esperanza Spalding
    Meshelle Ndegeocello
    Nik West
    Janice Marie Johnson ( A Taste of Honey)
    Carol Kaye
    Tina Weymouth
    Debra Killings
    Leather (Suzi Quatro) Tuscadero

Last edited: Jul 14, 2016
    Ronzo, Wookieeboy, odarellmc and 3 others like this.
  5. Some good names, but for me Gail Ann Dorsey is on a whole other planet. The Female Nathan East is you ask me...which is creepy becuase they have matching haircuts.

6. Geri O

Geri O Endorsing Artist, Mike Lull Guitars and Basses Gold Supporting Member

Sep 6, 2013
    Florence, MS