1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Fire the drummer or give a chance.

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by woody357, Mar 13, 2019.

1. woody357

woody357 Supporting Member

Jun 17, 2005
    I am at a crossroads. My drummer and I are friend, but I have been talking to him about his playing for a few months. He doesn’t know the songs a lot of times and his tempo is on and off. I’ve worked with him one on one, but that has gotten on my nerves because he comes over but doesn’t know the songs. At first I’ve been PC about it saying stuff like we and not point the finger, but it hasn’t worked. About two weeks ago I let him know he had to do better, meaning know the songs. Well he was really off this weekend on a big gig. My singers called me the next day complaining. I know I have to do something, but I’m not sure if should give him a ultimatum of get right I make a change, or just cut musical ties and move on.

Nunovsky and Smooth_bass88 like this.
  2. sorry mate you probably already know the truth.
    You cant build a house on a shaky loose foundation. same goes with a band and it's drummer. They kind of hold it together.
    Tough when it is your pal though

3. 4 Strings Good

4 Strings Good

Mar 6, 2014
    "Give a chance"? Isn't that what you've been doing?
    • You've been talking about the problem with him "for months"
    • You tried working with him one on one but he won't learn the songs
    • You warned him again before a gig
    • He didn't take your advice and blew it at a gig, pissing your bandmates off in the process
    You've been more than patient. Fire the drummer.

4. Stumbo

Stumbo Wherever you go, there you are. Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 11, 2008
    the Cali Intergalctic Mind Space
    Song Surgeon slow downer software- full 4 hour demo