First build: The Headless Mermaid

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by FretsAreFor, Aug 19, 2018.

1. FretsAreFor

FretsAreFor

Apr 26, 2017
    Greetings! This is my first build, so, go me!

Before I tell you anything else, here's the mockup to whet your appetite.

headless mermaid mockup.png

This project is driven by the need for a smaller bass for travel. I have a defretted Ibanez Mikro 5, and it travels well but it doesn't sound near as good as my Warwick. As luck would have it, there's an amazing luthier right near me. Hugo Mermet agreed to let me use his shop and to guide me through the process. My goal is to match his quality without his hands touching the instrument.

So, with the assistance of Mr. Mermet, the Headless Mermaid was conceived.

Specs:
    • Khaya body
    • Insane quilted top, with brown/black burst
    • Insane flamed roasted maple neck, one piece, bolt-on
    • Ebony board with maple inlay lines (quiet in the back row)
    • Hipshot headless hardware
    • Aguilar pickups & preamp
    And the body will be super-rounded, not beveled. The upper horn will the the only place that isn't curved.

This is going to be a fast project. I've got the week off to do it.

[Edit] It's done! Glamour shots are here.

Last edited: Sep 16, 2018
  2. FretsAreFor

FretsAreFor

Apr 26, 2017
    Day one:

Which is really two half-days, but who's counting.

Glued the body halves together.
    Screen Shot 2018-08-19 at 10.28.52 AM.png

Glued the top halves together.
    Screen Shot 2018-08-19 at 10.29.06 AM.png

Made the plywood template.
    Screen Shot 2018-08-19 at 10.29.19 AM.png

Pattern-routed the body.
    Screen Shot 2018-08-19 at 10.29.45 AM.png

Glued the top (rough-shaped) to the body. The plywood template is on top as a caul.
    Screen Shot 2018-08-19 at 10.29.59 AM.png

Made the template for pickup routing. My kingdom for a CNC!
    Screen Shot 2018-08-19 at 10.32.26 AM.png

3. Beej

Beej

Feb 10, 2007
    Vancouver Island