1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

First Rig

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by sherlock10851, Apr 20, 2011.

1. sherlock10851

sherlock10851

Mar 25, 2011
    Hey all! It is me again, poking around for beginner advice...
    I currently only own a baby practice amp... I just started playing @ a relatively small place using their Fender Bassman250 Eminence Combo. After cycling thru BassTalk, i now realize rigs make a significant difference in sound quality and projection. Anyhow, I am looking to get my own incase I gig elsewhere and to hear a possible difference in sound...

Size wise, I think the 250 works... I am not sure if I want a combo... I also need to be able to play silently (headphones) and want something that will last...

Suggestions? Also, is buying used a safe option? What r the things to watch out for?

2. christw

christw Get low!

May 11, 2008
    Dayton OH
    THE MADDEST SCIENTIST
    Buying used is a great option! If you don't mind their weight, the old Peavey amps and combos always resell for suuper cheap and last forever. Just make sure whatever amp you buy has a headphone out. Be careful buying vintage amps. If it makes any strange sounds, hums, or scratches, you may want to avoid it.

Otherwise just the super cheap stuff like Behringer is what to avoid. The Guitar Center Acoustic amps have so-so reliability but a great "here's a new one" exchange policy for broken ones. :D

3. RickeyC

RickeyC

Jan 17, 2011
    Arkansas
    Buying used is your best friend! Just play through it before you buy and if you like it, great; if you don't, don't feel obligated to take it. Also, don't do what most people do, have patience and wait for the right deal to come along. We can suggest things all day, but until you go out and try some stuff you will never know what works for you! It's all personal preference.. Welcome to Talkbass :)