1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Fretless better for ear training?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by LakeEffect, Mar 18, 2013.

1. LakeEffect

LakeEffect

Feb 21, 2013
    Denver
    Just a question/idea I was tossing around as I played a friend's fretless, would ear training be a quicker (albeit not necessarily easier) process on a fretless?

I thought that maybe, given the necessity and the fact you have more room to improperly intonate. I am a beginner/intermediate bassist who does not know very much theory, nor can I identify keys etc.. yet. It is, however, something I am working on and am serious about learning.

I play a fretted instrument and he offered to swap with me for a few weeks if I wanted to play around on his fretless (he has other basses so it's not a very significant sacrifice to him).

Any thoughts, should I grab it for a few weeks and work on theory to really drive the points home and try to "get my ears right"? I'm all for it if it would help, I would rather pass and not bother if it wouldn't.

2. DiabolusInMusic

DiabolusInMusic Functionless Art is Merely Tolerated Vandalism Supporting Member

Fretless will definitely improve your ear, especially if doing double stops.

My recommendation to you, and this is where I start all my students, especially those wanting to improve their ear, is to learn your intervals. Not only to name them but to be able hear them.

Singing also helps this greatly.

http://www.studybass.com/lessons/intervals/

3. LakeEffect

LakeEffect

Feb 21, 2013
    Denver
    Thats what I was thinking. I have tried to sing as I learn keys and I see it helping a little bit (I'm ok with that, I know its a process).