1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Gibson Basses?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jennings, Mar 10, 2008.

1. jennings

jennings

Nov 21, 2007
    Anybody know why Gibson has (basically) quit making basses? Are they going to just let Epiphone/Tobias/Steinberger make them from now on? According to their website, they (Gibson USA) only currently make 2 models: the SG Reissue and the T-bird. I've been Jonesing for a Honeyburst LP(Standard) Bass for the last 10 years, and now that I can finally afford one, they stop producing them!!:scowl:

2. MyUsernameHere

MyUsernameHere ?????????????

Nov 3, 2007
    Lexington KY
    It would seem that the geniuses behind Gibson's master marketing plan (acquiring other companies and systematically trying to destroy their reputation and/or quality to the point where there is really no reason to continue building and marketing them anymore) have turned their attention inward.

Why don't you buy a used one?

3. envika

envika

Nov 27, 2007
    Bronx, NY
    Because Gibson basses don't sell well, except for the occasional Jack Bruce-head SG bass guy and the guy that has $1750 to blow on a Thunderbird.

Also I don't the LP bass has been made for years.

4. SoLongJake

SoLongJake Supporting Member

Jul 1, 2007
    Des Moines, Iowa
    The quality control on their new basses is terrible at best. You're better off buying an old one.

5. Baird6869

Baird6869 RIP Gord Downey. A True Canadian Icon.

I would say "terrible at best" is a extremely broad generalization with no real basis in fact.:rolleyes:

Can build quality be suspect from time to time? Yup
    Are Gibson basses boring? Yup
    Are Gibson basses overpriced for what you get? Yup
    Are Gibson basses versatile? Nope

Totally just my opinion, but I have owned 4 Gibson basses and sold my 3 month old SG reissue last month as it was just collecting dust.