Good sound with small PA

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by Proton90, Sep 24, 2020.

1. Proton90

Proton90

Sep 28, 2016
    Hungary
    Hey folks!

We are putting together a wedding band where I will assume the mantle of sound guy. I have a basic training of PA systems and analogue mixers with some outboard stuff, but I constantly educate myself on modern digital mixers as well, while also running a project studio recording and mixing my own songs. However I have little “street experience” when it comes to live mixing ( a couple of occasions with an acoustic duo, and a big band where I played bass with the mixer next to me), and our first rehearsal was not really stellar in terms of sound.

The room itself was also inadequate, large squarish space with no dampening, plus a plain tile floor. The PA was a Soundcraft EFX12 mixer and two 15” Energy active speakers. The problem (besides the awful sounding room) was that even though I know this mixer’s bells and whistles and have an understanding of gain staging, EQ and all that stuff nothing seemed to work as I wanted it to. No matter how I tweaked the EQ I could not coax a decent tone out of any of the sources, the whole band sounded lackluster.

The EQ section on this mixer is as follows:

HF band: shelving EQ with 15 db boost/cut @12 kHz or above - I find no use for this as it only makes vocals too sibilant

MF band: Swept Mid EQ 150 Hz - 3.5 kHz, no adjustable Q - only cutting does any good with these, everything else seems to cause awful sounds. I tried a boosted sweep across the whole range, but I could not pick out one problematic frequency, every setting brought up some new abomination. Eventually I ended up cutting low mids on most channels.

LF band: shelving EQ with 15 db boost/cut @80 Hz or below. I used these as HPFs on vocals as there are no dedicated filters on the mixer channels.