1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Got Offering from Label, Is It Worthy?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by tyohars, Jul 31, 2020.

1. tyohars

tyohars

Nov 11, 2016
    Few weeks ago, I recorded demos for a label (you can find the whole story here). The label decide to sign us, but I don't know how much I should get from the deal. They offered 30% from the profit of digital selling (YouTube, Spotify, iTunes, Apple Music, etc) and 50-70% from live performance. I'm new at this industry, playing bass since 2014 as a hobby and getting serious since last year, never in this situation before. So, what do you guys think about the offer?

2. RSBBass

RSBBass

Jun 11, 2011
    NYC
    First congratulations!
    Second, get a lawyer experienced in the music business to review the contract. The world is littered with people who got ripped off by record companies. BTW I have never heard of a record company getting a portion of live shows unless they were fronting money for them.

3. AceOfBassFace

AceOfBassFace

Jun 23, 2019
    Toronto
    Wow congrats - sounds exciting!

First off - do you have an agreement amongst your group on how any money you might make gets split up? Songwriting royalties are a big one to sort out right away before you get more serious since that's a good chunk of the money a band makes. Will you get paid with a cut of the profits as a contributing band member or on a weekly salary as a sideman? Lots of stuff to consider. People change when money is on the line so watch out for that. Be prepared to walk away if it's not to your liking.