1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Grounding Question

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Perroid, Jul 3, 2014.

1. Hello fellow TB'ers,

I have a bit of a problem with my first J-Bass project. Here it goes.

I've recently acquired a J-Bass body and my uncle had a spare MIM neck I could use so I figured I try to build my own bass. Except for one major problem: I'm a real novice when it comes to the electronics.

Here's my problem, the body turns out to be modeled after a 60's J-Bass and it lacks a cavity for the bridge ground wire. And now I have no idea how to ground the bridge and pickups. The pickups are Dimarzio Ultra Jazz.

Here's a pic of the body.
    [​IMG]

Can you guys give me tips and maybe some schematics that would help me to ground and install the pickups? I will be using CTS pots and an Orange Drop capacitor for the control plate electronics. And I will also shield the body.

Thanks!

Attached Files:

2. You can ground the bass any way you want. It does not make any difference whatsoever, as long as every ground point is electrically continuous.

As far as the bridge goes, you will either have to drill a hole, or ground it with a copper strip, as is traditional of '60s Jazz basses. You should be able to find one on eBay.

AlarmClock314 likes this.
  3. LoveThatBass

LoveThatBass

Jun 28, 2004