1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Guitarist Needs Bass Advise

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by A6stringthing, Feb 26, 2020.

1. A6stringthing

A6stringthing

Feb 26, 2020
    I am a guitarist with a studio full of Gibson & Fender Guitar’s and Marshall and Friedman amps. So I know that side well. Recently I got a cheap Sterling MM bass so I didn’t have to bug friends to lay bass tracks. Now I’m bitten by the bass bug lol. I really enjoy the other side lol.

So now I want to buy a better bass. I was thinking MM but then figured a Fender P bass. Or should I go Jazz? So I think I settled on a Precision with a Jazz pickup as well since it’s only for recording. So now I need to figure out rosewood or maple? Ash or alder?

I played and enjoyed an American Performer P Bass. Is that a good upgrade or should I go with the elite series? I think I prefer the passive tone.

I write and play mostly rock. Some favorites are AC/DC, RUSH, Tesla, Black Crowe’s, Triumph but I also love ABB and Steely Dan and TOP.

Sorry for rambling trying to give a good idea of background. Any advise would be great!

2. Reedt2000

Reedt2000 Supporting Member

Apr 26, 2017
    Central New Jersey
    A P-bass would work just fine. It doesn't so much matter how high-end of a model you go with (IMHO). Its more important to find one that feels & sounds good to you. There is also no reason to get rid of the Sterling, it can give you some more options for tracking.

If you want a more versatile bass check out the G&L L2000. People refer to them as a "swiss army bass" cause the controls allow for a lot of variety. I think they sound like a cross between a stingray and a jazz bass. Despite being really well made, the used market for US-made G&Ls is kinda soft so there are often great deals to be had.

nFinnyD, Gilmourisgod, Mr_Moo and 6 others like this.
  3. A6stringthing

A6stringthing