Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

How I Practice

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Andy Allen, May 29, 2005.

1. Andy Allen

Andy Allen "Working Bassist"

Aug 31, 2003
    Los Angeles, CA
    I’m fairly new to DB, so I don’t have too much wisdom to pass on (those shouting, “Yeah, we noticed!” from the rear, please pipe down). I’m getting much more than I’m giving from this forum for sure, but perhaps this might be of help to others, despite the length, so here goes:

I’ve always been a terrible practicer. It’s not that I dislike playing, it's just that it takes me forever to start, and then, once started, I don’t want to stop: I’ll procrastinate for hours to avoid practicing, but once I start I really get into it and am then frustrated when I have to stop too soon…because I didn’t start soon enough.

So I have been on a quest for a practicing system that will allow me to get the maximum playing time, with the minimum pain. (A family with young children and a job with a very unstructured schedule doesn’t help.)

I’ve tried all sorts of things, and have realized that I must have a plan, or I spend more time trying to figure out what to play than actually playing. I have also come to realize that, while I do not get very much free time during the day, if I were to take all of the short spots between interruption by work or family I would have quite a lot of time on my hands.

I finally narrowed down a procedure for myself after reading the article about practicing in the recent “Double Bass” magazine. They break down a 200 minute (just over 3hrs) schedule into useful sections. Prompted by this I thought over my own needs, and began to design a schedule.