1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

How to break bad habits?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Angersmoothy, Sep 24, 2008.

1. Angersmoothy

Angersmoothy

Sep 24, 2008
    I have been playing for about 4 months almost entirely self taught. I am pretty comfortable with the fretboard and want to learn to play some faster bass lines. The problem is that the whole time i have been playing i have been plucking with my index finger almost exclusively (except for a quick one or two notes on a higher string). I never thought much about it but now playing fast is very difficult without alternate plucking and i can't seem to make my brain do it. If i think really hard about it, I can do it slow and clumsily, but if i just relax and try to jam, i automatically use just one finger.

My question is, how should i go about breaking this and any other bad habit.

2. justincest

justincest

May 1, 2008
    One word. Practice. Practice to a metronome slowly and build up your technique. Practice makes perfect!

3. tapp01

tapp01

Apr 10, 2008
    Wilmington, NC
    Another word -- Jamerson. ;)

4. Deacon_Blues

Deacon_Blues

Feb 11, 2007
    Finland
    Yep, practice is the key. Doing it the "correct" way for long times make you work it into your muscle memory which will make it come more and more naturally.

I must confess I'm playing less with two fingers nowadays than I did before, especially on slower lines. However when I do that, I use the middle finger the most, not the index...

5. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland