Ian Anderson as a bass player

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by IMMusicRulz, Oct 26, 2021.

1. IMMusicRulz

IMMusicRulz Commercial User

Aug 3, 2020
    Atlanta, GA
    I am a semi-professional musician
    Ian Anderson is pretty much capable of playing guitar, harmonica, tambourine, and flute. He has also played dulcimer, mandolin, bouzouki and mandola.

But it was while researching Jethro Tull discography that I noticed Ian played bass on their 1979 album, Stormwatch. This was mostly because John Glascock (who was the bassist for Jethro at the time) had been asked to leave for health issues, and allegedly had been undergoing drug and alcohol abuse at the time. Sadly, John Glascock died of open heart surgery in 1979 at the beginning of the tour to promote Stormwatch. He was only 29.

My guess is that Ian Anderson played the good Music Man Stingray Bass that John Glascock used to play on Songs From The Wood and Heavy Horses. John Glascock also played a Yamaha acoustic bass guitar during this time. John Glascock’s brother, Brian Glascock, was the drummer for the Motels.
    6A583BD9-AD2B-464E-A6ED-7AA0F810A890.jpeg
    I own Too Old To Rock & Roll: Too Young To Die and a promotional record called The Big Ball that features Nothing Is Easy from Stand Up.

But please respond if you find this interesting.

2. dalkowski

dalkowski Supporting Member

May 20, 2009
    Massachusetts USofA
    He's a talented chap to be sure. All the same, bass geetar DOES have only 4 strings... :bag:

3. mike57

mike57

Feb 12, 2009
    Our Fair City, MA
    A tambourine has none!

I saw Tull with John Glasscock back in the day. As I recall he had a very clean tone and technique that fit well with the band and the music Tull was playing at the time.

Such a tragic story.

4. Arthur U. Poon

Arthur U. Poon

Jan 30, 2004
    SLC, Utah -USA-
    Endorsing Artist: Mike Lull Custom Basses