1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

I'm Strongly Considering Leaving My Bass Teacher

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by MissThemyscira, Feb 19, 2020.

1. MissThemyscira

MissThemyscira

Sep 8, 2018
    I've been working with my bass teacher for a few months and he's a nice guy. He can certainly play his bass well and is an accomplished player who went to a highly regarded school.

The problem is that I dread going to lessons.

1. There's no plan. I've repeatedly asked for some sort of structure but that never happens. I never know what we're going to learn each week and I'm not sent home with any homework. I had to basically beg him to teach me warm-up exercises. I have to ask him about things I want to learn, which is concerning because I don't know what I don't know. I'm someone who works well with structure, so this flying by the seat of his pants style doesn't work with me.

2. Spurts of useful information. Some lessons are useful because we somehow get to talking about a useful subject, but most lessons consist of just learning a song and one lesson was random information about an esoteric scale. He also will forget what we learned in previous lessons.

3. No emphasis on reading music. I played saxophone when I was younger so I'm proficient at reading music, but we never have any music to go over. I'll ask him about a song I want to learn, he'll listen to it and figure out the notes and then we'll play it. But none of this is written down so I tend to forget what notes were played during that song.

I've come to the point where I feel like I'm wasting my money going to these lessons, just to leave frazzled and with no idea what to practice between lessons. I've expressed this to him but it's a lost cause.