Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Info on Acoustic Image Contra 310 BA?

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by ctcruiser, Oct 2, 2005.

1. ctcruiser

ctcruiser

Jan 16, 2005
    West Haven, CT
    I am a newbie and I may be buying a used AI Contra model 310 BA. Where can I find information about this older model?

It says 250 watts on the back and has 6 dials: volume, bass, mid, treble, brite, master volume. It has two pairs on inputs for jacks with a pair of high/low input and a pair of send/return effect loop.

It sounds great, but I was curious about how to tweak the sound with the various controls and inputs. I am using a Fishman full circle pickup without a pre-amp (I plan to buy a pre-amp in the future) on my Englehardt ES-1.

What would be a fair price for this model that is in good condition?

Any info would be appreciated.

2. bolo

bolo

May 29, 2005
    Apex, NC
    ctcruiser, I think you're asking about what a lot of people now refer to as a "Series I" Contra from Acoustic Image. I think this essentially means it was the first mass produced model of the Contra available from the manufacturer.

The Series II models have been out for several years now I think. And there were two iterations of the Series II, if I'm not mistaken that is, with differences in the how the head attached to the cabinet. And now the AI website has information on it about their new Series III models, which will be available soon.

You might be able to get information on the Series I gear directly from the folks at Acoustic Image, by emailing them (see email addresses listed on www.acousticimg.com) or by calling them at the number listed on their web site (919-598-3113).