1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Is it normal that fretted notes on a bass are ...

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by terribilino, Apr 27, 2009.

1. terribilino

terribilino

Nov 22, 2008
    ... slightly sharp? (As compared to the the open strings, I mean.)

I ask because I was noodling around with my bass plugged into my Pandora px5d today, and I noticed that the fifth fret on the E string was showing slightly sharp, whereas the open A was fine. Is that normal?

I'm very new at this, btw, so don't jump all over me if I just asked a stupid question.

2. portmanteau

portmanteau

Nov 16, 2008
    Palo Alto, CA
    What you need to do is check the intonation on your strings.

There should be screws at the bottom of your bridge that you can use to move the saddles back and forth.

You want to move each saddle and tune the string until the bass makes the correct note open and at the 12th fret.

http://www.tunemybass.com/bass_setup/setting_bass_intonation.html

3. zachbass02

zachbass02 One Hairy....squatch.

Jan 3, 2005
    Nashville, TN
    you need to have your intonation adjusted

4. droskobass

droskobass

Oct 8, 2007
    Montreal, Canada
    Former Part-Time, Non-Commission Employee MOOG Audio
    you may need to adjust your bridge saddles to correct your "intonation"

1. tune the open string with the tuner.
    2. fret it at the 12th fret and check the pitch
    3. If the fretted note is sharp you need to lengthen the string by tightening the screws that hold the saddles to the bridge. If the fretted note is flatt shorten the string by losening the saddle screw.
    4. retune the open string and adjust again as needed.

you'll need to do this if you changwe string guages.