Just discovered Jimmy Haslip

Discussion in 'Bassists [BG]' started by rodoherty1, Sep 3, 2004.

1. Hi Guys,

Bit of a pointless post ... but there is a question at the end of this rainbow.

I've just bought my first Yellowjackets CD and I am so impressed by Jimmy Haslip's confidence, taste and rock-solid groove

I knew from Bass Player magazine that he's a technical monster but I love the way he lies nice an low in the mix and delivers every note with such confidence and zero ego.

I'm a bit of a newbie to Jazz but I can (just about) work through a chord chart. Would it be worth investing in one or two of the YellowJackets chord books? Would it be no different in style or difficulty to any of the Real Books (I own New Real Book Vol.1)?

2. congrats dude, you just discovered one of the coolest bassists on the planet. Check out jimmyhaslip.com - if you ask him a question he will always answer you!

My favorite stuff of his is on the Yellowjackets' 'Four Corners', 'Politics', and 'The Spin' records. Sweet stuff like 'Prayer for El Salvador' (The Spin) and great BASS playing on 'Foreign Correspondent' (Politics).

He also is on a record called Jing Chi with Robben Ford and Vinne Colatuia (sp?).

Among others. He has many, many credits to his name. One of my all-time favorites, he has it all, groove, feel, chops... :bassist:
  3. narud

narud Supporting Member

Mar 15, 2001
    santa maria,california
    check out mint jam and the mint jam lead sheet book available from their website. great stuff :bassist:
  4. JimK

Dec 12, 1999
    Haslip has the knack of making something in 4/4 sound 'odd'...while also making something odd sound smooth & even. He & ex-'Jackets' drummer William Kennedy are masters of this.
    Haslip can swing, funk it up, rock out, groove, & solo. He has a lot of it covered.

I think there's 2 Jing-Chi albums out; I have the 1st(some of it sounds like Cream on 'roids)...a LIVE one came ot over the Summer(IIRC).
  5. DWBass

DWBass The Funkfather