Knuckle Cracking

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by lamborghini98, Dec 13, 2005.

1. lamborghini98

lamborghini98 The Aristocrats

May 1, 2005
    NYC; Portland, OR
    Does anyone know if cracking your knuckles messes up your hand in the long run? Sometimes I do it to loosen up my fingers when I'm playing, and Ive heard rumors that it gives your athritis later on.
  2. DigMe

Aug 10, 2002
    Waco, TX
    No legitimate studies that I've seen support the theory that knuckle cracking leads to long-term injury. We've discussed it before.

brad cook
  3. mikemulcahy

Jun 13, 2000
    The Abyss

What he said.

4. Old wive's tale, commonly spread by older folk.
  5. DigMe

Aug 10, 2002
    Waco, TX
    Wives perhaps?

brad cook
  6. fraublugher

Nov 19, 2004
    ottawa, ontario, canada
    music school retailer
    so , you'll find out when you're older...
  7. cheezewiz

Mar 27, 2002
    I've been doing it for at least 35 years, and my knuckles are still healthy.
  8. Pause

Jun 4, 2003
    Miami, FL
    I pop my right thumb... because it gets a bit stiff ever since I broke it. Not really the conventional "pop", but more of a side-to-side bit 'til I hear it "pop"
  9. tplyons

Apr 6, 2003
    Madison, NJ
    I've been told it actually has positive effects.
  10. Josh Ryan

Josh Ryan - that dog won't hunt, Monsignor. Staff Member Supporting Member

Mar 24, 2001
    I heard it makes you go blind.
  11. Bently

Bently Guest

Jul 3, 2005
    Saltillo, Mississippi
    I heard somewhere that popping them releases gas build-up between the joints or something like that. Anyway, the message they had was that it helped them.