Lite, loud and tone

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by bassboy1076, May 14, 2012.

1. bassboy1076

bassboy1076

Jan 7, 2011
    So, I've been using ampeg cabs for the last 12 years. First I used the classic 8x10, then moved on to the pro series and finally I used 2 of the PR-410 HLF cabs. I tried out an Avatar 4x10 cab with neo speakers for a short time, but it just didn't have enough tone. I feel a lot of the mid range was gone in the Avatars. I'm kind of tired of the same ol ampeg tone. I actually just moved to Orange and bought the Terror Bass 1000, the lil amp rocks, I'm still using it with one of the 4x10's, but the cab ways a ton. I'm hoping to find a liter cab. Anyway, my question is, what cabs do yall like? My style is rock, all the way from folky americana to Metal. So I am looking for a good midrange tone with plenty of low chunk. Any suggestions? Ideas? Favorite brands? All is welcome, thanks.

2. Evil Undead

Evil Undead

Oct 31, 2009
    I've heard the new GK combos are awesome.

3. Dave W

Dave W Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2007
    White Plains
    He's looking for a cab, not a combo...

:confused:

4. bassboy1076

bassboy1076

Jan 7, 2011
    True, cabs are what interest me.

5. Evil Undead

Evil Undead

Oct 31, 2009
    I'm sorry, I meant cabs. I've heard some of the new lightweight cabs being demoed and they sound great.

6. I would check out a fEARful. A 15/6 or a 1212/6 might be just what you are looking for. Where are you located? there might be one close to you that you can try out.

7. 3l3phantstomp

3l3phantstomp Doesn't Welcome Our New Overlords

Jun 6, 2011
    Cincinnati, OH
    I roll an Orange TB500 thru their SP212 cab and have used it onstage for rock, blues, and metal. I love it and can't bring myself to consider anything else. But its rated for 600 max amps...