1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Loctite For Hipshot Bass Extender?

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by PolkaHero, May 13, 2019.

1. PolkaHero

PolkaHero

Jan 5, 2002
    Michigan
    Just wondering if anyone has used Loctite Threadlocker on their Hipshot D-tuners to keep the tuning more stable? Seems like every time I tune up I have to adjust the bolt to get the drop D note in tune. Does using a threadlocker product help stabilize it?

2. buldog5151bass

buldog5151bass Kibble, milkbones, and P Basses. And redheads.

Oct 22, 2003
    Connecticut
    I've been using the same one on my jazz for over 30 years, and stays in tune fine. How stable is the tuning on the tuner itself?

3. Goatrope

Goatrope Supporting Member

Nov 18, 2011
    Sarasota Florida
    When I had extenders on my basses, I always put a drop of Loctite at the bottom of the pivot where it screws into the baseplate. If not, mine would begin to back out after a while.

4. jebmd

jebmd Gold Supporting Member

May 4, 2009
    Lothian, Maryland
    I can’t see the negative of using a drop or two of loctite, just make sure you use the blue type.

PolkaHero likes this.
  5. Zooberwerx

Zooberwerx Gold Supporting Member

Dec 21, 2002
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Any threaded tensioner can benefit from a drop of blue Loctite. Once applied and the component re-assembled, rotate the bolt back 'n forth 360 deg for a minute or so or until the assembly begins to squeak. This will gum-up the works as desired and minimize (...if not eliminate) slippage.

Riis

jebmd and PolkaHero like this.
  6. JTE

JTE Supporting Member

Mar 12, 2008
    Central Illinois, USA
    This solution assumes that the set screw slipping is the cause of the difference. There are a few other factors including: