Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Mackie Onyx board for recording to PC??

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by thewanderer24, Jan 5, 2006.

1. thewanderer24

thewanderer24

Apr 29, 2002
    SJ, CA
    Hi folks, I am a recording newb, and looking to start building up a basic set up at my home for recording. I did search on similar topics, and didn't really see many answers to my specific questions.

Initially, this will be mainly used for demo type recordings for groups without drums (just don't have the space and noise tolerance where I'm at for drums). I'd like to get stuff that allows me room to grow and expand with as I have money, time, and space to invest more. Initially, I need to have AT LEAST 3 simultaneous inputs and more than that would be useful for some things I have in mind.

I came across the new Mackie Onyx boards and am very intrigued. Seems like the preamp quality is decent enough that it would save me from initially having to invest in extra preamps, and it would give me a lot of simultaneous inputs to work with. Being able to control the mix with the board instead of the mouse is definitely appealing to me. The Onyx is also supposedly capable of working with many other recording software packages besides the Mackie Tracktion stuff.

Being able to use the board as a straight up mixer for live applications is also a nice thing, as occasionally I would have the use for it.

Also, it seems like it would be $1000 less initial investment than the digi002 protools set up. Every other possibility I've found interesting seems significantly more complicated to set up and work with, and at least as much money. I can get the 1620 and firewire card for about $1200, while the digi002 will cost me $2200 or so.