Mesa Next-Gen Walkabout Scout

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by RichSnyder, Jun 10, 2021.

1. RichSnyder

RichSnyder Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Jun 19, 2003
    This is 100% hypothetical, I have no knowledge of a next-gen Scout and this is more wishing out loud than anything. In fact, from a financial standpoint I probably would never approve a next-gen walkabout combo. A head and cab are close enough for 90% of the players that might be interested. But if it were to happen, play along in my wishful thinking land, would it have to be based on a WD-800 or would a D-800 be good enough? Would you want a 112 or a 115? A 112 is more compact but a 115 now is almost as light as the old 112 cab. Would you want the controls top facing as on the original? That's perfect for when just the combo's speaker is used, but awkward to read / adjust when you sit it on top of another cab.

Again, just a thought experiment. With the 2 ohm switch, the heads seem more ideal for a cab because you can limit the power sent to the internal speaker. But I guess the 112 can handle 400W, so maybe that isn't needed.

2. agedhorse

agedhorse Supporting Member Commercial User

Feb 12, 2006
    Davis, CA (USA)
    Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Benz
    The challenge in a combo format is keeping the mechanical power handling adequate for 400 watts RMS into 8 ohms.

Things tend to grow larger than the currently acceptable size of the format, and this kind of combo would be very expensive made in the US.

Perhaps revisiting this at 150-200 watts into 8 ohms (like the Walkabout) might be viable however.

I’m always open to opinions and suggestions.

3. donhank

donhank Supporting Member

Sep 24, 2016
    Denton, TX