Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My ACab Was Flaming Saturday Night

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by hpttpbass, Nov 7, 2005.

1. hpttpbass

hpttpbass

Nov 7, 2005
    Hey, ok so I've been playing for 10 years and I've never been much of a gearhead although I'm in the constant search for the perfect tone. Anyway Sat night I'm playing the bar where the pretty people go in a downtown strip in Fredrick MD. I'm literally 30 seconds into the first tune when my lead guitarist starts pointing at my amp and screaming "ahhhhh, ahhhhh". I turn around and my cabinet is on fire. It was an ampeg 4x10hlf, I run through an ampeg svt 3-pro and a sans amp bass driver DI. I'm not sure what happend but after we put out the fire I tried my head (running through an ampeg BM2x10) but alas it was no good. Anyone have any idea what might have happened? You think we were drawing too much power from the circuit? I don't get it because bands constantly play there. What do I need to do to avoid this kind of thing in the future? :crying:
    Thanks,
    hpttpbass

2. tombowlus

tombowlus If it sounds good, it is good Gold Supporting Member

Apr 3, 2003
    North central Ohio
    Editor-in-Chief, Bass Gear Magazine
    Wow, that is bizarre! I have no idea what might have caused this, but I look forward to hearing from anyone who might know, so that I can try to avoid a similar fate! I trust that no one was hurt?

Tom.

3. jacostilllives

jacostilllives

May 4, 2004
    is the 3 pro in a rack or do you just have it sitting on top of your cab? Was it literally on fire or was it just smoking?

4. DaveDeVille

DaveDeVille ... you talkin' to me ?? Supporting Member

i could be wrong , but i don't think 30 seconds is enough time for the Ampeg
    to overheat and to cause an actual fire ...

... were the cabinet and head both on fire ? { or just smoking ?}