My custom homebrew 6 String

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by weeeugene, May 3, 2004.

1. weeeugene

Oct 19, 2003
    Just wanted to share the fruits of 2 months showering in sawdust. It's my first attempt at making a bass (or any form of woodwork for that matter) and I was inspired after lurking around this forum and seeing way too many custom basses that i could not afford.

so i took the easy way out. i retired my washburn xb600 and recycled the neck for my project since its my first time and i didn't have the tools or confidence to attempt a neck from scratch.

here are the specs

Body : Figured African mahogany with quilted maple top
    Neck : Maple
    FB: Rosewood (i think)
    Bridge: Slim Tail 6 from Custom Shop Parts
    Pickups: EMG 45 Js (a pair)
    EQ: EMG BQS (trb, bass and sweepable mids with 18v)

since it was my first time, the body shape was based on one of the best looking basses around in my opinion, the Plume from JP (many many many thanks for that design JP, hope you don't mind me borrowing it for my little project).

Thanks to all on the forum for their help!
  2. weeeugene

Oct 19, 2003
    More pics of the headstock and the pickup covers
  3. weeeugene

Oct 19, 2003
    last one of the back.
  4. Wolfehollow

Jan 21, 2003
    Pensacola, FL
    damn!!! You did a great job!!!

...I am really impressed... and I am sure jp will be flattered. :)
  5. lyle

lyle Guest

Jan 10, 2004
    Vernon, B.C. Canada
  6. sheepdog

Feb 20, 2003
    Birmingham, AL
    Very nice looking bass....only problem is I could have sworn you said "My custom hebrew 6 string". I won't even go off on that tangent....

pretty amazing job for your first time (or for any time for that matter)
  7. weeeugene

Oct 19, 2003