1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My Lightwave Addiction

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Single Coil, Jan 29, 2017.

Tags:
  1. Single Coil

Single Coil Supporting Member

Apr 8, 2006
    I have been playing bass for 33 years. In that time I have owned many basses, primarily Fenders and Rics. The bass I have had the longest is my 1998 Carvin B4 which I can't see ever selling.

I have a reasonably full schedule given that I'm also a full time chemistry teacher. I play two services per Sunday twice a month at my church (about 400-500 people each Sunday), I play in an originals band, a cover band, and I play in two local musicals each year.

About five months ago I found myself in possession of an extra P-Bass which I traded for a 2005 fretted Lightwave SL5. As soon as I played it, it was obvious that I liked the tone. There was a problem with the electronics, but I was adamant about keeping this bass. The notes just seemed to jump out.

Long story short, I sent the bass off for repair and in the process ended up acquiring a 2014 Lightwave VL fretless. This is by far the nicest fretless I've ever owned.

I have read some mixed reviews of these basses over the years, but I do not have any reservations about these instruments. They have become my main basses. My Ric 4003, Carvin B4, and fretless Jazz hybrid are feeling neglected I'm sure.

Now I'm thinking of getting a fretted 4 string...

Obligatory pics below.
    Lightwave SL5 Fretted.JPG LightWave VL5 Fretless 2.JPG

And just for the record, I am not being compensated in any way by Willcox Guitars, I just love these things.

Herrick, Les Ismoor and wmmj like this.
  2. A fretted 4? But you've already got one! Just ignore the B string! :D

3. Single Coil

Single Coil Supporting Member

Apr 8, 2006
    B string? I thought that was a thumb rest!