1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Newbie Question :|

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by DemonDan, Jun 9, 2011.

1. Hi people,
    i'm quite new to basses and music in general, gonna buy a yamaha rbx374 or rbx270j after this weekend. but thats not the question the amp is my problem. where i'm staying at the moment i have a very limited choice of amps, best newbie amp i saw was a VOX Pathfinder 15R for a pretty reasonable price.
    can that be my practice amp for a while till i get back home?:confused:

thanks in advance, Dan

2. JimmyM

JimmyM Supporting Member

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Nah, it's made for guitar. If you have one already and want to play it, be careful not to put too much low end or volume on it and it should be OK. If you're shopping for a practice amp, forget it and get a bass amp with a cab suited for bass.

3. Alex1984

Alex1984

Jan 16, 2010
    Vancouver
    SWR and Peavey have good inexpensive amps with very practical features. Well, most beginner combos are similar.

4. thanks for the help, if you have any more suggestions i would love to hear them

5. dbhokie

dbhokie

Nov 1, 2010
    I would suggest going into a music store, and playing through some of the setups and comparing prices, then checking prices online etc. What is your budget?

6. ok, first my budget for the amp alone is upto 400$ but the problem is that where i am at the moment there are no music stores i am far far away from home and stuck here, the thing i can do is order a specific model and they will hopefully ship one for me, cant use internet stores or any such thing pretty much stone age. :|

7. RickenBoogie

RickenBoogie

Jul 22, 2007
    Dallas, TX