Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Pope given last rites

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by SomecallmeTim, Mar 31, 2005.

1. dlloyd

dlloyd zzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

Apr 21, 2004
    Scotland
    I'm not a christian, but my thoughts are with him. Pretty amazing guy.

Seriously, no theological/philosophical discussion welcome here.

2. Against Will

Against Will Supporting Member

Dec 10, 2003
    Big Sound Central
    We're nearing the end of an era, or maybe it's already ended.

3. This does not surprise me.

He's not doing well, that's for sure.

Mike

4. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    He looks like he is ready to die. Every time I see that guy on TV, I feel sorry for him.

-Mike

5. Marlat

Marlat

Sep 17, 2002
    London UK
    By all accounts (and im not an expert on this so stand to be corrected) the Pope is, for want of a better term, stubborn in that he refuses to "let go". He is very much determined to stay alive and keep being the Pope (ie fulfilling his duties), even at the risk of his own health. On that basis, I don't feel sorry for him because he is doing what he wants to do, its not like the Cardinals etc are forcing him to make public appearances etc.

6. Anybody here remember the last selection ritual? Or rather, the last 2 selection processes held so close together?

Talk about a world holding their breath...

7. SuperDuck

SuperDuck

Sep 26, 2000
    Wisconsin
    That happened before I was born. John Paul II has been the only Pope I've known.