1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

poplar vs. adler: what I recently found

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ToneMonkey, Oct 28, 2013.

1. ToneMonkey

ToneMonkey

Sep 27, 2003
    Newberg, OR
    So I've been playing a MIM J Bass since late 2001. I cherry picked this particular one off the wall at GC. It's been a good friend all this time.

But I've always felt like the bass was kind of weird somehow. I've always wanted a little attitude on the E string. It always seemed overly warm and rolled off to me. I've gone through a bunch of pickups and bridges, finally settling on a Fralin neck PU, Bart bridge PU, Audere Pre and a Fender vintage style bridge with threaded steel saddles. This is definitely a poplar body. I always wondered if that could be part of the problem.

So a few weeks back, I'm looking at the Fender web site and I see that they've done a limited run of alder J bodies in White Pearl Chrome. I bit.

I installed the new body on Saturday and got a chance to play it with the band last night. Just subjectively, I have to say that the difference was beyond minor. It seemed like a whole other (much better) instrument to me. It just seemed to sit in the mix way better than it did with the poplar body.

I know this is contrary to conventional wisdom. That poplar is supposed to be much like alder. Anyway, my direct personal experience (albeit with one instrument) tells me something else.

BTW, when I was setting the instrument up with the new body, I could tell it was something special. The intonation, saddle height, everything just seemed to fall right into place. I've done a gazillion setups over the years, and some instruments just fight you the entire time. Not this one, it just came together like the parts had been waiting for each other.

YMMV. Peace.

2. mongo2

mongo2

Feb 17, 2008
    Da Shaw